Celtic manager Ange Postecoglou celebrates with the league trophy after the cinch Premiership match at Celtic Park, Glasgow. Picture date: Saturday May 14, 2022.

Ange Postecoglou has been recognised for his standout contribution to Australian football as one of six inductees into Football Australia’s Hall of Fame.

Postecoglou will be joined by former Matildas players Moya Dodd and Collette Gardiner (nee McCallum), players’ union pioneer Brendan Schwab, SocceroosOlympian Ted Smith, and Tasmanian media personality Walter Pless in the latest batch to be acknowleged.

They will be inducted at the Matildas’ clash against Sweden at AAMI Park on Saturday.

Postecoglou, who played for Australia four times, led South Melbourne to championships as a captain and then coach.

Postecoglou later masterminded the Brisbane Roar‘s “Roarcelona” dynasty with his attacking style.

He led the Socceroos at the 2014 World Cup and claimed Australia’s first men’s Asian Cup on home soil in 2015.

Postecoglou won the J1 League title with Yokohama F. Marinos in 2019 and claimed the 2021-22 Scottish premiership with Celtic.

“The Football Australia Hall of Fame is the highest honour bestowed upon players and participants who have served the game — either on or off the field — with distinction, with no better demonstration of this than our class of 2022,” Football Australia chairman Chris Nikou said in a statement.

All six were nominated via a public process, with the nominees then considered by a panel of Australian football historians.

The panel of historians provided their recommendations to the FA board, with the directors ratifying each person’s elevation.


Contact Us

A: 13-15 Little Burton St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010
P: +61 2 9332 9111
E: [email protected]

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top